In Laufental the interaction of the four factors
are evident:

After the formation of the Jura through geological folding 10 to 3 million years ago, the Laufental we see today was a wide valley in which the Birs flowed towards the Rhine. The river began to eat into the valley floor and thus initiated the creation of the caves.

 

 

Korrosion

Corrosion

During the first stages of the formation of a cave, water containing carbon dioxide enters through minute cracks and layer interfaces into the rock.
It dissolves the surrounding rock through corrosion
(chemical dissolution). After a sufficiently long time a large passage is created. During this part of their formation, caves are usually entirely filled with water.

Erosion

Erosion

The larger the passages, the more water is able to flow though them. When this carries clay, sand and boulders with it, they grind the rock walls – the rock is eroded. It does not matter if the cave is full of water or has just a stream flowing through it.

Inkasion

Breakdown

When a passage has reached a certain size, roofs and walls may begin to collapse, depending on the stability of the rock. The passage changes its character. If a stream flows through it, the fallen boulders are dissolved by corrosion and carried away by the water. The passage increases in height and can, in extreme cases, break through the ground above
(see Panel 8 Dolines)

Genesis of karst caves

Karst is a generic term for all limestone landscapes with underground drainage. The karst caves in our area can be found mainly on almost horizontal joints or along crevasses. The cave formation is based on penetrating carbonated water, formed from the CO2 of the soil air, which converts the hardly soluble calcium carbonate (15 mg/L) of the limestone into easily soluble calcium bicarbonate (1.5 g/l) and thus chemically dissolves it.

Top

Le Laufonnais démontre l'interaction de ces quatre facteurs de manière exemplaire:

Après la formation du Jura plissé entre 10 et 3 millions d'années avant notre ère, le Laufonnais actuel était une vallée large et peu accidentée. La jeune Birse y coulait en direction de la vallée du Rhin. Elle commença à creuser son lit. Ainsi put débuter la formation des grottes.

 

 

Korrosion

Corrosion / Dissolution


Au début de la formation d'une grotte, l'eau contenant de l'acide carbonique pénètre dans les plus petites fissures et joints de stratification de la roche. Elle dissout (par réaction chimique) la roche environnante. Une galerie spacieuse se forme après un temps suffisamment long. Plus il y a d'eau qui y circule, plus le calcaire va se dissoudre. Pendant cette phase les grottes sont le plus souvent entièrement remplies d'eau.

Erosion

Érosion


Plus la galerie s'agrandit, plus la quantité d'eau peut augmenter. Si l'eau transporte de l'argile, du sable et du gravier, les parois se creusent - le rocher s'érode. Que la galerie soit immergée ou parcourue par une rivière à l'air libre ne fait pas de différence.

Inkasion Incasion
Quand la grotte a atteint une certaine taille, le plafond et les parois commencent à se casser en fonction de la stabilité de la roche. L'aspect de la galerie change. Si la galerie est parcourue par un cours d'eau, les blocs de rocher sont dissous par la corrosion et sont emportés par l'eau: la galerie devient plus haute et peut atteindre la surface dans les cas extrêmes (Doline double ).

Formation des grottes

Karst est un terme générique pour toutes les régions calcaires présentant un drainage souterrain de l’eau. Les grottes karstiques de notre région se trouvent principalement sur des joints de stratification quasi horizontaux ou le long de fissures. La formation est causée par l'eau carbonatée pénétrante, contenant le CO2 provenant des couches d'air proches du sol, qui dissout le carbonate de calcium peu soluble (15 mg / L) de la roche calcaire en bicarbonate de calcium facilement soluble (1,5 g / l) et qui le dissout ainsi chimiquement.